What I’m Reading Today

Spring has sprung…if you haven’t been to the farmers’ market, now is the time to get there.  Strawberries, asparagus, and more…it’s that time of year and I love it.

Rachel Barrett/The New York Times

When I was a kid my mom rocked this dessert!  Lemon Pudding Cake-tender cake on top with rich lemon pudding at the bottom.  I loved it warm but it’s pretty much delicious any way you can get it.  It’s popped up in the Fanny Farmer Cookbook, Cooks’ Illustrated, and even graced the plates of Delfina and Gary Danko.  Today it’s in the NY Times via Ian Knauer’s new book, The Farm, and, let me tell you, this cake is not to be missed.  There is nothing difficult about the recipe but, do bake it in a water bath as directed. The recipe calls for four eggs and, unless you want lemon scrambled eggs, the water bath is necessary to keep them from overcooking.

Astrid Riecken/The Washington Post

Another spring favorite of mine is rhubarb.  I write about it often as it brings me right back to my grandparent’s table.  My grandpa used to grow it in his urban pea patch, bringing it home to my grandma who would transform it into a rhubarb strawberry compote that tasted good on virtually anything.  I love this idea in today’s Washington PostStrawberry Rhubarb Yogurt Parfait.  I’m not sure which part is best-the oat based crumble, the fruit compote, or the rich yogurt.  The crumble and the compote keep well so I’m planning to make a big batch of both.

Sarah Lee/The Guardian

Speaking of cooking the season, how about The Guardian’s Wild Garlic, Courgette, and Mint Soup?  If I told you it was vegetarian, vegan in fact, would you believe me?  With six simple ingredients a recipe like this truly exemplifies what it means to cook what’s fresh.  Go to your farmers’ market and seek out spring garlic, fresh vibrant zucchini (a.k.a. courgette), and fragrant mint.  With a little onion and a drizzle of your favorite olive oil, you’ll have a rich Spring soup that will be delicious warm or cold.

Happy Reading and Happy Cooking!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

