What I’m Reading Today

Sixty-degrees and sunny…really?  These are the days living in California almost feels like a guilty pleasure (see, I said almost).  Hope the sun is shining on you where ever you may be.

Fred R. Conrad/The New York Times

I fancy myself more of a crab girl than a lobster girl.  Growing up in Seattle, I wouldn’t have it any other way.  That said, if my Valentine decided to make this Lobster Stew with a Pastry Top, I certainly wouldn’t complain.  In the NY Times, David Tanis takes the lobster pot pie and creates a version that is, dare I say, lighter and far more approachable.  The sauce isn’t your typical roux-based sauce, rather a reduction of of half-and-half with a bit of potato starch and creme fraiche.  The pastry tops are baked separately, avoiding that pitfall of gooey crust.  I think any Valentine would be happy to have it.

Ricardo DeAratanha/The Los Angeles Times

Now, if you follow that Lobster Stew with this Mexican Chocolate Pots de Creme from the LA Times, you’ll really have it made.  Think grown up uber-rich chocolate pudding, spiked with cinnamon-scented Mexican chocolate.  I’d add a tiny pinch of ancho powder too-I love the combination of dark chocolate and spicy heat.  Great thing about pots de creme is that you can make the in advance.  Just keep them tightly wrapped in the fridge so they don’t absorb any odors.

Katherine Frey/The Washington Post

If you need a little something to offset the guilt from your dinner and dessert, trying throwing in this side dish from the Washington Post: Potato, Pancetta, and Brussels Sprout Saute.  The sprouts are thinly sliced (think hash browns), which helps them brown and caramelize when they hit the pan.  Trust me, anyone who says they wont eat Brussels sprouts has never had them cooked like this.

Happy Reading and Happy Cooking.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I’m Reading Today

  1. Go Jody! I love lobster and have never had a recipe like this. And I really like Brussels Sprouts and plan to try this recipe soon.

  2. Pingback: What I’m Reading Today | Food Wednesday

Leave a Reply

