What I’m Reading Today

Before I get into my recipe picks today, let me direct you over to the Great Falls Tribune where my friend and fellow food writer, Sydne George, has an info packed article on kitchen knife-know how.  Well worth a read, plus you can practice your knife skills with her Shrimp Chopped Salad recipe.

Andrew Scrivani/The New York Times

Salads have always been something I need to force myself to eat.  I’ve envy those people who can eat a salad for a meal.  To me it just doesn’t really “count”.  But, call it “slaw” and I’m a much happier camper.  Something about the texture of a crunchy slaw is so much more appealing to me than any old salad.  This Broccoli, Cabbage, and Kohlrabi Slaw even has some cooked quinoa thrown in, so you’ve got protein and your veggies in one neat package.  This is a salad that withstands time-it keeps four days in the fridge which means you can make a big batch and pack it for lunch all week.  Top it with grilled salmon, chicken, or tofu and it would be an easy dinner as well.

Glenn Koenig/The Los Angeles Times

Decadent.  Indulgent.  Even Crazy-Over-The-Top.  Call it what you will but this Mac-and-Cheese from Palazzio’s in Santa Barbara (via The LA Times) looks unreal.  Unlike a traditional recipe that’s based on a Bechamel sauce, this version mixes cooked penne with tons of cheese, heavy cream, and eggs.  Note that the recipe calls for 2 pounds of pasta so when you see the shockingly high amounts of cheese that go in, remember this would be very simple to cut in half or even quarters.  Then again, Mac-and-Cheese for a crowd is a sure fire way to make some new friends, especially with this recipe.

Deb Lindsey/The Washington Post

Braising is my favorite cooking method.  Slow cooked stews are the food I crave this time of year, and my well-loved Le Creuset works over time helping me make them happen.  If you have a slow cooker these dishes are a no-brainer.  Perfect for a working family because you pop the ingredients in early in the day and when you come home before dinner, the dish is finished.  No leaving the stove on either.  In today’s Washington Post there is a recipe for Slow Cooker Spicy Curried Pork that has a slightly Indian flavor to it.  The meat is browned first, which will give the dish more depth of flavor (don’t skip this step).  Now if the rice could just cook itself too you’d really be all set.

Happy Reading and Happy Cooking!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

