Chickpea Stew with Lamb Meatballs

In Wednesday’s post I mentioned this Chickpea Stew with Lamb Meatballs.  Well, it was dinner tonight at my house and my husband said it was the best thing I’ve ever made.  I don’t know if it was that good but, it was pretty damn amazing.

I followed this recipe almost to the letter.  I left the cinnamon out of the meatballs-I’ve tried that before over here and it hasn’t gone over well.  Also, I wanted to keep the heat on the mild side so instead of adding the minced chile I used a healthy pinch of ancho powder.  I also cooked the meatballs in the broth for almost an hour, 3-4 times longer than the recipe said.  The first 15 minutes I left the stew uncovered then I turned it as low as it would go and kept it covered , wanted to be sure nothing dried out. There was an incredible depth of flavor and the meatballs were very tender. The stew’s broth took on the flavor of the meatballs and the cumin and ancho powder were just enough to give it a fragrant and savory flavor. I opted for the chard (instead of the spinach) which I highly recommend-it keeps a bit of a bite, while spinach has a tendency to get mushy when it cooks to long.

I’ll make this again and again and would absolutely recommend you try it. Recipe says it serves four but the three of us finished it all off.  Next time I’ll double it because leftovers might be even better.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

