Flourless Carrot Cake

 (photo by A.D. Liano)

If you read my post earlier this week, you saw this recipe for Flourless Carrot Cake from The New York Times.  The recipe has been calling my name for a few days.  With little over 1/2 cup of sugar in the entire 9-inch cake plus no flour and no butter, would this really taste good?  Only one way to find out!

I made the cake today, following the recipe to the letter.  It was done in about 50 minutes, as opposed to one hour, but it rose beautifully and, when I baked a side cupcake just so I could taste it, I have to tell you it was lovely.  Cinnamon, nutmeg, and lemon zest made up for the small amount of sugar plus, carrots are naturally sweet on their own so they helped too.  I beat the hell out of the eggs and sugar-at least tripled their volume.  Don’t skimp on this part (it took about 7 minutes) because it’s what makes your cake rise.  When the recipe says beat to a ribbon, it means ribbon (by the way, beating to the “ribbon” stage means that when you drizzle some of the batter over the top of the bowl in the shape of a ribbon, it should hold that ribbon on top for a bit before it sinks back into the rest of the batter-in other words, nice and thick). 

When all was said and done, I just couldn’t leave well enough alone.  Taking my own advice, I whipped up a simple batch of lemon cream cheese frosting and slathered it over the top of the cake.  So much for that low sugar cake!  I toasted and chopped a handful of walnuts and put them over the frosting. Sans the frosting the cake would be perfect with tea or for breakfast.  My version is definitely dessert.

I think it is gorgeous and can’t wait to give it to my gluten-free friend Jen.  I’ll be sure to tell her to report back here after she cuts and tries the first slice.

Cake recipe is available here

Cream Cheese Frosting
8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature (very soft)
2 tbs butter, room temperature (very soft)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp fresh lemon juice
pinch of salt
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, beat the cream cheese and butter until completely smooth and creamy, 2-3 minutes.  Add the vanilla, lemon juice, and salt and mix well to combine.  Sift in the powdered sugar and continue mixing, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed, until very smooth.  Makes enough to frost one 9-inch cake.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Flourless Carrot Cake

  1. Sara says:

    sounds delish. i'm going to try next week. also love that tony has the photo credits. 🙂

  2. This sounds so good….and looks so beautiful. I like the baking a cupcake on the side idea!

  3. Anonymous says:

    I was the very lucky and happy recipient of the beautiful flourless carrot cake. Thank you Jodi! I will admit to eating the cake for dessert, breakfast and lunch and finishing it in its entirety. The frosting was just right and pulled together the carrot and nuts perfectly. Thank you for sharing and looking out for your GF friend.

  4. Pingback: Gulrotkake utan mjøl | heimelaga -men enkelt

Leave a Reply

