What I’m Reading Today-Cookie Edition

It’s time for cookies.  Holiday cookies galore!  Happy Baking.

As you can see from the picture above, I LOVE holiday cookies.  In today’s LA Times there is an article called Sweet Memories of Mom’s Christmas Cookies.  Who doesn’t have a memory of some kind of treat during the holidays, whether it was made by your mom, grandma, or neighbor.  I was shocked to see a recipe for Frozen Fruit Slices.  This is much like a cookie called “Santa’s Whisker’s” that my friend Kelly makes as part of her annual holiday tradition.  They are her grandmother’s recipe and her dear grandma lived to be 103 so they always make me smile when she brings a batch to our house.  Very buttery and nutty, they will elevate candied fruit to an entirely new level for you.  Kelly rolls hers in toasted coconut but truth be told, they look much like the cookies in the Times.

More cookies over at the NY Times today.  These are wedding cookies, in the Italian tradition.  I remember going to a family wedding for my husband’s cousin and the table of cookies his aunt had made was gigantic.  Like my own great Aunt Bobby used to do, his Aunt Roe had made dozens of types of cookies and stocked them away in her freezer for just the right special occasion.  If you’re looking for a new cookie you can stash in your own freezer, try Chocolate Italian Wedding Cookies, Peanut Butter Blossoms, or Aunt Gen’s Biscotti.

What’s not to like about a Double Peanut Butter Chocolate Chewie?  Maybe its not your traditional holiday cookie but with ingredients like  cocoa, brown sugar, peanut butter, and yogurt, this is a very easy cookie, from today’s Washington Post, for anyone wanting a more straightforward recipe.  Decorating be damned!

If your holiday cookie spread isn’t complete without something rolled in powdered sugar, maybe you need the SF Chronicle’s recipe for Auntie Ella’s Snowballs.  Whether you call them Mexican Wedding Cakes, Russian Tea Cakes, Sandies, or Snowballs I LOVE any version of this buttery, rich cookie rolled in powdered sugar.  Thank goodness my mother in law makes a ton of them.

Finally, a big shout out to my Basics Two class that ended last night at Tante Marie’s.  You guys were an amazing group and I had such fun cooking with you.

Happy Reading

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’m Reading Today-Cookie Edition

  1. Amelia PS says:

    fantastic reference 🙂
    I have started baking cookies too. I have to sit down and start posting now!

Leave a Reply

