What I’m Reading Today

It’s cool here, finally feeling like Fall. All the more reason to get into the kitchen! Here’s what I like in the food sections today.

Spaghetti squash is one of those vegetables I never ate growing up. I’m guessing my mom didn’t like it (I should probably ask her) because to me it was totally foreign the first time I tried it. It’s kind of a trip-this large winter squash looks fairly unassuming until you cook it (usually roasted or blanched)-take a fork to the flesh, give it a scrape, and out comes squash “noodles” that have a nice al dente-like crunch and a very mild flavor. Because of this, the squash goes well with bold flavors, even spaghetti and meatballs if you’re watching those carbs. They are at the peak of their season right now so it is the perfect time to try one out. I like the idea of serving one for Thanksgiving, prepping most of it in advance and doing a quick saute just before dinner. In today’s NY Times there is a recipe for Spaghetti Squash with Garlic, Parsley, and Breadcrumbs. I’d do the first part the day before and the saute just before dinner. Make a big batch and eat the rest like a salad the next day, topped with a little vinaigrette and some crumbled cheese.

Soup is one of my favorite things to make. It’s flexible, meaning I can add what ever I have in my fridge. It’s great to make in advance and usually tastes better the next day anyways. It also satisfies you deep down when you eat a steaming bowl of homemade soup. From that first smell to the last bite, soup just makes me feel good. In today’s LA Times there is a recipe for Black Bean Soup (a la Las Brisas restaurant in Laguna Beach) that looks like a perfect meal. I’d add a simple salad of jicama, orange, and cilantro and call this dinner. Served with a home made pico de gallo and garnished with crispy onions and bacon, the soup is full of flavors and textures. This would freeze beautifully so stash some away for that next cold night when you’re stumped on dinner. You’ll be glad you did.

I was about to write about the stunning Cranberry Glazed Butternut Squash in the Washington Post when I saw the recipe for Tender White Cake. My favorite all time cake is a white cake with chocolate frosting but good white cake is damn hard to fine, either too dry or too yellow. Cake flour and egg whites are key, keeping the dough very light and the color nice and pale. This recipe also calls for a cup of plain yogurt which, because of its acidity, will make a really tender, moist cake. I’m craving it already. Hmmm, layer cake or cupcakes? I’ll keep you posted.

Happy Reading and Happy Cooking!

This entry was posted in black bean, cake, recipe, soup, squash, thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I’m Reading Today

  1. Amelia PS says:

    Oh! the photo of the Cranberry-Glazed Butternut Squash on the WP looks soooo tempting. Will have to try it sometime.

  2. We LOVE black bean soup — I'm going to try the one from Las Brisas this weekend. It looks amazing! 🙂

  3. Pam, when you make it you can crank up the heat in your house and imagine you're in sunny Laguna Beach. I know I'd like to be there right now 🙂

  4. I'm so up for the cranberry glazed squash – unlimited potential is has this idea…

  5. Kerry says:

    I did grow up eating spaghetti squash, but haven't had it since! I'll have to try this recipe. And I love black bean soup – will definitely try this one.

Leave a Reply

