Homemade Ice Cream

Years ago I bought a Krups ice cream maker. The $50 machine is one of my favorite kitchen appliances. I leave the canister in the freezer and the small dasher and motor attach to the top and plug into the wall. Smaller than a food processor, the thing churns perfect ice cream. Sadly, it is tough to find now but Cuisinart makes a similar one and I’ve used it before with great results.

In the summer, Vanilla Bean ice cream becomes a partner to fruit crisps and pies. If I’ve been over zealous in my farmer’s market shopping, I use the over ripe fruit for sorbets or ice creams. My new glass food storage containers keep the ice cream totally sealed so a batch will last up to a week and hold its consistency beautifully (that is if we don’t eat it all in one sitting).

Having just returned from an overnight in St.Helena and a visit to the farmer’s market, I have a box of juicy peaches just screaming to get into the ice cream maker. I used my Philadelphia Style Ice Cream base (no eggs-light and perfect, in my opinion), skinned and pureed three of my peaches, and crushed up a vanilla bean. I’ll refrigerate the base for a few hours and churn it tonight. After a chill in the fridge, it’ll be a perfect dessert for the Fourth. It may get caramel sauce and toasted pecans, if I really decide to guild the lily. We’ll see…

Here is the recipe for Phili style ice cream. You can infuse it with anything you like-fresh mint, crushed coffee beans, pureed fruit, or dark chocolate. Have fun with it-it couldn’t be easier.

Philadelphia Style Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

2 cups whole milk

2 cups heavy cream
1 cup sugar

vanilla bean, split lengthwise
pinch of salt

In a pot, combine the milk, cream, and sugar. Scrape the seeds from the vanilla bean into the pot, adding the pod as well. Bring the mixture just to a boil then reduce the heat to a simmer, stirring occasionally until the sugar has dissolved, 3-4 minutes. Remove the pot from the heat, stir in the salt, and let cool completely. Transfer the mixture to a bowl, cover tightly, and refrigerate until very cold. Strain the mixture into the ice cream maker and churn according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

If you’re infusing any other flavors, add them into the milk mixture with or instead of the vanilla bean. When you strain the chilled ice cream base, any big bits will be removed.

Makes 1 quart

This entry was posted in ice cream, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade Ice Cream

  1. Megen says:

    Hey Jodi, It's Megen O'Keefe from CES and from your Basics I class. I just bought an ice-cream maker – the Kitchen Aid Bowl. It has been fine but not sure if it was the right one now that I just read your article. I was inspired after reading Fine Cooking's article on ice cream. I made strawberry basil and Irish Coffee from that magazine – yum! but only is small doses and a carmel ice cream from Barefoot Contessa – also really good! I will try your recipe now. Thanks!

  2. putra says:

    thanks for share your recipe, i love it.

Leave a Reply

