What I’m Reading Today

Wow…this summer thing has gotten away from me. I realize how much time I have to blog when my son is in school. He’s obviously home these days…sorry for the lapse.

A little bourbon, a few peaches, a handful of pecans, and some vanilla ice cream? Yes! In today’s LA Times the recipe for Peach and Pecan Sundaes looks divine. I’m bbq’ing for friends this Friday and I think I’ve just found dessert. Of course the Warm Chocolate Bread Pudding doesn’t look so bad either.

Today’s NY Times food section is the Summer Drinks Issue. They’ve got you covered, from A to Z (ok, A to W), no matter what your libation of choice may be. Daiquiri, Julep, Rickey, or Wine…it’s all there. Of course, you’ll need some food to go along with those cocktails–Greek Style Nachos with pita and ground lamb or Suppli al Telefono (fried risotto balls stuffed with cheese) should do the trick.

I love the crispy, crunchy bread sticks we get at Pizzeria Delfina. Today’s Washington Post has a recipe for making your own, along with Tomato Rosemary Foccacia and Honey Whole Wheat Bread. The article talks about all the D.C. restaurants that are now making their own bread. Maybe you should try it too?

The Seattle Times has an informative article on using leftover bread. Me? I usually throw mine in the food processor so I can add it to my bread crumb bag in the freezer. The article has a few other ideas, including a great looking recipe for a Panzanella with Fresh Herbs.

Happy Reading and Happy Cooking!

This entry was posted in bread, bread pudding, ice cream, recipe, restaurant. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

