An Old Favorite

As some of you know, I am a cookie making machine. Lately I’ve been testing recipes for a new cookbook so it’s put a damper on my recreational cookie baking, probably a good thing! Well, last night we went to a BBQ and I needed a quick but delicious cookie to bring with me.

My mom used to make Toffee Squares all the time. It’s a bar cookie that is a snap to make. It’s got a golden shortbread like crust, made with brown sugar for a caramel like flavor. On top is thick layer of chocolate and chopped nuts. Total time-about 20 minutes plus cooling, gotta love that.

Next time you want a fantastic cookie without spending the day in the kitchen, try a batch of Toffee Bars.

Toffee Bars

1 cup butter, room temperature
1 cup brown sugar (dark or light), firmly packed
1 egg yolk
1 tsp vanilla extract
pinch of salt
2 cups flour
12 ounces chopped good quality chocolate or good quality chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped nuts, such as pecans, almonds, or walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease or spray a half sheet pan (rimmed baking sheet, 12″ x 18″).

In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, 2-3 minutes. Add the egg yolk, vanilla, and salt and beat until well combined. With the mixer on low speed, add the flour and beat until the dough comes together. Transfer the dough to the baking sheet. With a plastic bag on your hand, press the dough out so it covers the bottom of the pan in an even layer.

Bake the crust in the preheated oven until golden brown and set, about 15 minutes.

Remove the pan from the oven to a rack and sprinkle the chocolate all over the top. Let stand for 5 minutes then, using an offset spatula, gently spread the chocolate into an even layer. Sprinkle the nuts over the top and score the cookies with a knife while they are still warm. Cool completely then finish cutting cookies into bars.

This entry was posted in chocolate, cookie, nuts, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Old Favorite

  1. Deana says:

    Yum! Can’t wait to try these. When is the estimated publishing date for your cookie book?

  2. No date for that book. For now I’m working on a Farmer’s Market book for Williams Sonoma. Will keep you posted though…

  3. CalGirl JILL says:

    Thanks for the recipe! I am in the baking mood. How much flour does the recipe call for? Thanks!

  4. woops-good call Jill. That would be 2 cups!

  5. I remember your mom making these! I’ve been meaning to comment on here for a while — your blog is wonderful. I love how it is just Jodi talking! I hear your voice as I read it. You are talented, my dear! Wish I was still in SF — I’d be over for dinner more that you care to know! Love ya!!! Pam

Leave a Reply

