No Fail Brown Rice

I mentioned in a previous post my ‘baked brown rice’. Truth be told, it’s not really mine. I got the idea from Alton Brown on the Food Network. Mine or not, the idea is brilliant.

I was never a fan of brown rice. I’d tried to make it and it was always too raw or too mushy. Enter baked brown rice. This is seriously fool-proof and the end result is fluffy, nutty brown rice that will covert you to the healthy stuff forever. My son mows it in and many a dinner guest has been won over. Sure it cooks for an hour but, this is totally unattended leaving you to cook something else (or to put your feet up with a nice glass of vino and that book you’ve been wanting to read).

I always use brown basmati rice. I soak it in water for at least an hour but, putting it in a sieve and running cold water over it will also help. This rinses off the excess starch helping you avoid sticky gummy rice.

Give it a try and let me know what you think. You might just decide you prefer brown rice too!

You can find the recipe here.

This entry was posted in brown rice, easy, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Fail Brown Rice

  1. mparisinou says:

    Tried this one last night. Worked like a charm!

  2. Karen Shakkour says:

    Jodi I have another trick. Can't remember where I saw it, but it works. It's just too hot here to turn on the oven. I prep the rice as usual (rinsing, soaking, etc.), put my liquid in the pot to boil, add rice and bring to a boil again, and finally wrap the pot lid in a tea towel and then cover the rice and turn the heat all the way down. The towel seems to absorb the condensation from the lid and my rice or quinoa comes out fluffy. I'm amazed, but it seems to work every time. Also tried the oven method and it works great. No more mushy rice for me.

Leave a Reply

