Blog Roll…

Like most people who have a blog, somewhere on their main page is a ‘blog roll’…a link to the blogs they like. I have a love/hate relationship with these lists. When I go to one of my favorite sites, I browse their blog roll, start clicking links to new blogs, browse their blog roll, start clicking links to new blogs, and the next thing I know an hour has passed!

The list below are just a few of my favorite food blogs. It’s a totally subjective list, just my opinion, and in no particular order. No one asked to be listed here so, you can be assured it’s all me. I’ll post again with more but, for now, this is a good start. And if you decide to link away, don’t say I didn’t warn you…time will surely tick away.

Eating Asia: When I was in Thailand I met a journalist/photographer husband and wife team named Robyn Eckhardt and David Hagerman. They do beautiful work together and this site is a great example of their talents.

Naomi Duguid’s Blog: If you have read or cooked from any of Naomi Dugiud and Jeffrey Alford’s amazing collection of books, you know they are great writers and fantastic photographers. Naomi shares her thoughts on life here.

David Lebovitz
: David is a former Chez Panisse pasty chef now living in Paris. He spent a lot of time in the Bay Area but our paths have never crossed. I still LOVE his site. His writing is witty and fun and his sweet recipes will make your mouth water.

101 Cookbooks: Having been blogging long before me and the rest of the world, Heidi Swanson’s gorgeous blog has taken off. She’s even written a book using her healthy and flavorful point of view. If you’re looking to cook tasty food that is good for you, 101 Cookbooks is a great place to start.

The Amateur Gourmet: Adam Roberts is a riot. His writing is off the cuff, real, and certainly hysterical. He is easy to read and you will get a kick out of his posts.

Los Angeles Time Daily Dish
: I think the food section of the LA Times is the best around. Their blog is great too, even if you don’t live in LA.

Eater SF: For all the dirt on San Francisco restaurants and food, Eater keeps you up to date. With their own scoop and links to others, it’s a one stop shop for everything you need to know.

7X7 Bits and Bites Blog: Another good source for not just local SF food news but, recipes, trends, and cocktails too.

Cupcakes Take the Cake: Out comes the voyeur in me. All about cupcakes, the best part of this site is the photos. You’ll be amazed at what you see!

Cannelle et Vanille: Because in my next life I’m going to be a pastry chef, I live vicariously through this site. Stunning pictures and beautiful recipes. Haven’t made anything from here yet but, my mouth waters every time I look.

Dorie Greenspan
: Cookbook writer extraordinaire, Dorie will make you long for more time in the kitchen.

The Atlantic Food Channel
: The Atlantic Monthly has updated their food section online and Corby Kummer is at the helm-how could it be bad?

Joy the Baker: I stumbled upon this site via someone else’s blog roll and am very grateful. This lovely LA based baker takes incredible pics of her baked goods. I’m making the cinnamon pull apart muffins on Sunday.

The next two sites are not officially blogs but, for you food folks out there, they’re well worth a visit.

Tablehopper
: Marcia Gagliardi writes like no one else I know. You’ll be seduced by her weekly emails (be sure to subscribe!) and you’ll feel so ‘in the know’ when you get tips on hot new restaurants, old favorites, and where to imbibe.

Tuesday Recipe
: If you’re a home cook stuck in a rut, Tori Ritchie will come to the rescue with her weekly Tuesday Recipe emails (again, be sure to subscribe). She creates simple recipes for food you will definitely want on your next dinner table.

Finally, the incredibly voyeuristic side of me can’t stop reading This is Why You’re Fat. I don’t know why but, seeing things like corndog pizza, ‘sausage fatty’, and the ‘porkgasm’ totally gross me out and makes me giggle at the same time.

Have I missed your favorites? Let me know…

This entry was posted in blog, links. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog Roll…

  1. Love your blog–one that I follow religiously! Another good one? Orangette! (http://orangette.blogspot.com/)Cheers!

  2. Robyn says:

    Thanks Jodi, for the plug. We really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

