What I’m Reading Today

After a 36 hour journey home, I’m back. Jet lagged and a bit scattered but, I am here.

Figure I’ll make this a short one because for any of you who have waited out my LONG posts from Asia, you probably need a break. Thanks for reading!

If you’re in SF, you probably know the SF Chronicle is posting their food section over the course of a couple days instead of their regular Wednesday issue. I’ll continue to post a highlight on Wednesday, if I find one. In addition to the opening of Nopalito, the little Mexican sister of Nopa, the food section has an article about meatloaf and local chefs. One of my favorites is the meatloaf at Blue Plate. I’ve loved this place since day one (when they had no pastry chef for the opening weeks and I used to make the desserts at home and drop them off!). Chef extrodinaire, Corey Obenour (and his former partner, my cousin Ian), had the meatloaf on the menu from day one and it is still a hit. Now you can try making it at home. Now if only they’d bring back the Lazy Daisy Cake.

I’ve never loved Nutella. I’m admittedly not a huge hazelnut fan and am sure I’d be addicted to the stuff if it were chocolate and almonds, walnuts, or pecans. Honestly I’m thankful it’s not! Today’s LA Times has a handful of recipes using Nutella and I think I may actually try the ice cream. It’s got a rich custard base plus a cup of Nutella. I may throw in some chopped almonds for good measure.

I don’t know if it’s too much Asian food but, Mexican sounds delicious to me right now. This recupe, for Sopa de Tortillas de Huevos in today’s NY Times looks so hearty and satisfying. I love big soups like this and, no matter what nationality you are, I think you can call this one comfort food.

Salted Pecan Caramel Blondie Cake
? I miss my desserts! Thai sweets were just not my thing. I craved a dark chocolate brownie or a piece of salted caramel. This recipe, in today’s Washington Post, might just satisfy my cravings for a while. Ya think?

Happy Cooking and Happy Reading…

This entry was posted in cake, caramel, eggs, ice cream, meatloaf, recipe, restaurant, soup. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’m Reading Today

  1. Angie says:

    Ok – that cake looks AMAZING although quite time consuming. If you make a go of it, please let me know if it’s worth the effort. Looks right up my alley…now if only I could enjoy and lose weight at the same time?!?!?;-)

Leave a Reply

