A New Year of Cooking

Every food section and magazine has published their predictions for food trends in 2009. I am making my own list. Things I’d like to do more and less of in the year to come when it comes to food. I’d love to know what you’re thinking too. Will anything change in your cooking, eating, or dining out habits in this new year?

1) First, I have to say I want to use my NEW KNIFE more in 2009. Yes, my husband and son scored huge, giant points when they got me the “Bob Kramer for Shun” chef’s knife for Christmas. The thing looks incredibly daunting but it cuts food like butter. Nothing makes your prep faster than a sharp knife. If you’re still out there cutting with a dull one, make a resolution to have it professionally sharpened or to buy an upgrade this year.

2) Eat more appetizers for dinner. I’m over the small plates thing but, I do love the idea of eating two appetizers instead of one app and an entree. My eyes are always bigger than my stomach and I never finish my dinner. Last night we had a fantastic meal at Anchor and Hope. Four of us shared lots of apps then I had another app as my entree. I left feeling just right-not too full. I need to remember to do this more often.

3) Keep cooking at home. I would say I cook an average of 4-5 nights a week. I’d like to keep that a consistent 5 in 2009. I’d also like to try more new things. Last year I made a pledge to cook through my cookbook library. I’d pick a book each week and cook only from it for that week’s dinners. It didn’t last long enough and I still have so many books collecting dust on the shelves. I’m trying this one again.

4) Try new restaurants. I get in a rut and don’t try enough new places. I have a handful of SF restaurants that I know will be consistently delicious all the time. They are worth the money and I’m never disappointed. Because of this, I get stage fright when it comes to trying something new. What if it sucks? What if it is outrageously overpriced? What if I leave feeling like ‘I could have made that at home for a lot less’? I hate to risk it and tend to keep my choices safe. This year I’m venturing out and trying more new places.

5) Bake more bread. I love, I mean love, the idea of mixing flour, water, and yeast and creating a crusty loaf of homemade bread. My bread doesn’t turn out great-it’s fine, always smells good, and we certainly eat it. I want to get good at making bread and need to practice to make that happen. This is the year.

6) Entertain at home. We recently remodeled out house and there are still a million loose ends to finish. Those last things on the ‘to do’ list have been my excuse for not having a dinner party. I need to get over it and start entertaining again. I love dinner parties and this year I will try to step up and have them a lot more often.

7) Keep blogging. This one is really for you. If I keep writing this thing, will you keep reading? Posting? Telling your friends about it??? If I know you’re out there I’ll keep at it. If I don’t, this one may fall by the waist side.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A New Year of Cooking

  1. Anonymous says:

    We enjoy your writing! If you enjoy it, too, then keep doing it! Thanks!

  2. I like the one about actually getting out some of the many cookbooks I have on my shelf and actually making something from them! I love to buy cookbooks, but rarely cook from them….why is that?! Keep up the great blog!

  3. Angie says:

    I hope you keep blogging, Jod! I love reading it and always love the great tips you give in here. The cookbook idea is such a good one that I plan to implement this year. Thanks for all the terrific info!

  4. Dave says:

    Jodi – I love baking bread ever since I took the course at Tante Marie. Please keep us in the loop if you find any great recipes.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I just started reading your blog and I hope that you continue! I definitely need to cook at home more often and try out new recipes from my cookbooks.About sharp knives — are the electric knife sharpeners safe to use? I received one as a gift and it sharpens great; I’m just not sure if it’s going to ruin my knives in the long run.Thanks for sharing!

  6. I’d avoid the electric knife sharpener at all costs. Use use steel on a daily basis (or when ever you use your knife) and get it professionally sharpened once a year. Have fun!

  7. Sara says:

    Jod – loved the cooking suggestions for the new year. I’m going to try the cookbook a week idea. My other cooking related resolution is to try to be better at planning my meals out. Grocery shopping on Sunday for the week as opposed to every other day. We’ll see how it goes. And, definitely keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

