What Was the Best Thing you Ate All Year?

With 2008 coming to a close, the newpaper, magazine, and blog world are all full of lists. I’ve been seeing many people posting the question I did: “What was the best thing you ate all year?”. Not only is this a fun question to answer but, it actually prompts you to post a comment. After almost 100 posts, my comments have sadly dwindled. I know you’re out there and I want to hear from you.

For me this is a seriously hard question so I have to answer with a list. As I type it, a favorite might jump out for now, I’m taking the easy way out (and these are not in any particular order). If we dined together in 2008 and you see that I’m forgetting something, jump in and remind me.

1) I really loved that fruit galette I made last summer. The original post with the recipe is here. If you’re anything like me you’ll starting counting down the days until summer fruit is back

2) The Momofuku Ramen and Pork Steamed Buns and New York’s Momofuku Noodle. I have craved this meal on every cold day since we returned from the city. Just smelling that broth put me over the edge.

3) The first time I made Bon Appetit’s Orzo with Creamed Corn Sauce it was the height of summer with farmer’s market corn. Rich, sweet, and delicious. This is the perfect summer side. For some reason I can’t find the recipe on Epicurious. I have a hard copy and will post it when corn is back.

4) The Panzarotti at Pizzeria Delfina on California street. Picture a mini (say two bite) calzone filled with melting cheese and the best pepperoni ever (I don’t usually even like the stuff). Now, deep fry it (I know…) and serve it on a bed of perfect tomato sauce. Four in an order is never enough. I could eat these every day. Thank god I don’t.

5) The Panzanella salad at Redd in Yountville. This was one of those incredibly simple dishes that was elevated to perfection because the ingredients were amazing. The best tomatoes, crusty bread, and just enough salt and olive oil to bring it together.

6) The Crispy Pork Belly at Lucques in Los Angeles. I wrote about it here and can’t wait to have it again. Peaches, Saba, and porked cooked until it was meltingly tender. Mmmm…

7) The spaghetti at Scarpetta in New York. Much like the Panzanella, this simple dish was better than the sum of it’s parts. The combination of homemade pasta and straight forward ingredients came together to create this over the top yummy spaghetti. As I wrote, the restaurant was good but the spaghetti was great.

Alright you…what is the best thing you ate this year? I’m waiting…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Was the Best Thing you Ate All Year?

  1. Deana says:

    My first reaction was, I must not be much of a cook because I had no memorable meals…but I did make a yummy blackberry pie this summer from the blackberries we picked. Tim said it is his Father’s Sunday breakfast….sliced potatoes fried, a plain omlette, and bacon. That panzella salad sounds yummy do you have a recipe you make? Could you post it?

Leave a Reply

