My New Favorite Treat


Mindy is a great cook. I know she loves to bake and she never ceases to surprise me with the amazing things she does. Check out these lovelies!!!

She calls them “Heaven on a Stick” which, let me tell you, they absolutely are. Ready for this? Take a marshmallow and put it on a lollipop stick, dunk it in caramel, dunk it in chocolate, then sprinkle it with colored sprinkles, chocolate jimmies, or crunched up Heath Bar. Not only do they look spectacular but they taste amazing. Of course kids go absolutely nuts over them but, I will tell you, grown ups get pretty damn excited too.

Next time it’s your turn to bring treats, create your own seasonal version of “Heaven on a Stick”-I’m imagining red and green sprinkles for Christmas, white chocolate with blue colored sugar for Hanukkah, white chocolate with red heart candies for Valentine’s day, or dark chocolate and sea salt for my own next birthday!

I emailed Mindy for the recipe this morning. In the meantime, I Googled “heaven on a stick” to see if I could find it myself. Ha ha ha-some hysterical results: corndogs, fried fish on a stick, lobster sandwich on white bread (not on a stick but, oh well), and frozen bananas. I think I’ll stick with her version.

Here’s the recipe she uses, adapted from Sticky, Gooey, Messy, Chewy: Desserts for the Serious Sweet Tooth (how do I not have this cookbok?), by Jill O’Connor and Leigh Beisch.

Heaven on a Stick
36-48 large sized marshmallows
lollipop sticks
1 can (14 ounces)sweetened condensed milk
4 T. unsalted butter
¼ salt
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 bag (14 ounces) caramel candies (about 50 individual caramels), unwrapped
1 pound your favorite dark, white, or milk chocolate, melted
candy/sprinkles to decorate outside

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spray lightly with nonstick cooking spray

Combine the condensed milk, butter, salt, and vanilla in a large saucepan over medium heat and cook until the butter melts and combines with the milk. Bring to a boil and cook, stirring constantly, for 1 minute. Stir in the caramels and cook, stirring constantly, until the caramels melt and mixture is smooth. Reduce the heat to low and simmer the caramel, stirring, for 1 minute longer. Remove from the heat and dip the marshmallows into the caramel, rolling them around and coating them completely, except for on top. Place each skewer on the prepared baking sheet and store in the freezer until the caramel hardens and the skewers are easily lifted from the parchment, about 30 minutes.

When the caramel has hardened around the marshmallows, dip them in the melted chocolate, then roll them the candy coating/sprinkles. Refrigerate until hard (it usually hardens instantaneously).

Skewers can be refrigerated for up to one week, or packaged in cellophane bags and tied with a ribbon for giving.

Mindy buys all of the candy ingredients (sticks, caramels, melting chocolate, etc.) from http://www.anoccasionalchocolate.com .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My New Favorite Treat

  1. lynda says:

    I just found your blog. I was surfing for inspiration myself tonight and thought I’d peek at Tante Marie’s Cooking school to see if there might be a blog. Surprise…there you were!I love your down-to-earth and friendly style as well as your variety of subjects. As I searched around I came across Heaven on a stick. I haven’t tried them yet, but tell me what’s not to love?? Sticky-gooey, covered in chocolate…sounds like heaven to me! I will be checking in on you more often. As for cinnamon buns and sticky buns, how about the schnecken from Gayle’s Bakery in Capitola, CA?? Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

