What I’m Reading Today

A crazy day today but, still managed to squeeze in a few of the food sections.

In today’s SF Chronicle, I noticed a link to their annual Thanksgiving guide. It’s time to start planning your menu or figuring out what you should offer to bring. This guide is full of everything you ever wanted to know about that gut-busting meal.

Cranberries are something I could take or leave. I don’t put them on my Thanksgiving plate and definitely wouldn’t opt to have them for dessert. BUT, the recipe in today’s NY Times for Cranberry Parker House Rolls might just turn me around. I love making bread and hardly ever do it. I think these rolls are a perfect excuse to get out the yeast and try it again.

Speaking of making bread, I think I may attempt, for the second time in my life, homemade bagels. My mom did it when we were kids and for some reason that memory is forever etched in my brain. Who makes homemade bagels? Well, they are good-trust me. The LA Times talks a lot about the ‘Holey Bread’ today, including this recipe for trying them yourself. Let me know if you give it a shot.

I am definitely in a baking mood this morning. The meeting I am headed to better have treats. Homemade scones could not be easier-really. Today’s Washington Post has a recipe for Buttermilk Scones with Fruit which looks simple and really tasty. The best thing is, you can make the scone dough, divide it into wedges, and freeze it! Just thaw it 1 hour in the fridge and pop it in the oven. If you’ve having house guests this holiday season, give this a try. I also love the idea of bringing frozen scone dough to someone’s house as a hostess gift.

Happy Baking 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

