What I’m Reading Today

I don’t know how a week flies by so quickly, but it’s already Wednesday again! Whew, I’m still catching up from last week…

Chicken, Lemongrass, and Potato Curry-my kind of meal. Especially, as Janet Fletcher writes in today’s SF Chronicle, when it’s is made with chicken thighs. All you “I only eat boneless, skinless chicken breast” folks need to expand your horizons. Chicken thighs are the dark meat of the bird. With more fat, the thighs have a lot more flavor and the meat stays nice and juicy. Plus, they cost of fraction of the price you’d pay for those lean breasts. Give ’em a try. You’ll be glad you did.

Calories do count! In today’s NY Times, Kim Severson writes about the in-your-face calorie counts restaurants are now disclosing. If the average person should eat 2000 calories a day, do you think that Starbucks fruit scone at 480 calories is a good idea? Just remember, whole, real foods are always a better option than that artificially ‘low cal’ stuff. Of course if reading about the calories in your favorite foods is too much for this Wednesday morning, you can always read the recipe for Edible Googly Eyes instead.

Brunch and Breakfast baking-I love it. Give me a new recipe for scones, coffee cake, or muffins and I’ll find an excuse to have people over so I can make it. In today’s LA Times, they’ve printed a recipe for Cranberry Orange Cornmeal Cake from the restaurant Rustic Canyon. I think it is from the regular dessert menu but, I’m all over it for breakfast.

I went east this morning to read the food section in the Washington Post. The American guru on Mexican cooking, Diana Kennedy, is profiled in a fantastic article. If you like Mexican food, you should know Diana and her books. I met her once and she is a bright, gracious, and intelligent cook. Her passion for the foods of Mexico really is unparalleled. I dream of taking a class from her in Mexico but, in the meantime I’ll live vicariously through her recipe for Shrimp in Pumpkin Seed Sauce.

Happy Cooking and, if you know what’s good for you, don’t steal your kid’s Halloween candy until *after* they go to bed Friday night!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

