My Last Meal

Occasionally in my classes there is a need for an ice breaker. The group gets quiet, I get nervous, and something needs to help move things along. Years ago I asked the class a question, “What would you eat for your death row meal?” It was a riot figuring it out. As the years went along, I had one to many literal students tell me they’d never be on death row or what they would/would not allow inmates to eat, so I had to change the question:

“If you could pick your last meal in the world, what would it be?”

I’ve heard so many great answers: a plate of warm chocolate chip cookies from one woman and gooey brownies from a guy with a sweet tooth (this comprising their entire meal!), oysters, oysters, and more oysters (it is usually guys who give this answer), the cheese cart at Gary Danko (again, comprising the entire meal), and lots of childhood favorites like mom’s fried chicken, their local pizza spot, or just a perfectly cooked steak.

I’ve had a lot of time to think about mine and many people have heard it by now. I eat a lot of good food but, in my mind, the last meal never changes: Dungeness Crab, perfectly cooked French Fries, Blackberry Pie, and a bottle of Sancerre. I can’t imagine a better feast.

So, think about your last meal and post it here. You can do it anonymously or you can fess up. Either way, I’d love to hear it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Last Meal

  1. Deana says:

    Great question…I asked my husband and he said Thanksgiving dinner (in our house this is Turkey, cranberry (the canned jelly variety = ) …), chestnut stuffing, sweet potato casserole (no marshmallows), roasted asparagus, and rolls. Yum…But for me I think it would be a Mahi Mahi Burger from the Fish House in Paia, Maui…or a giant Greek Salad with homemade warm pita bread.

  2. Anonymous says:

    There’s a book about this called “My Last Supper: 50 Great Chefs and their final meals” that you’d probably find interesting.-From a woman who will always choose fried chicken

  3. I know! I saw it and it killed me-I should have written that book 🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    * alder-planked salmon* garlic mashed potatoes* sauteed green beans* fresh blackberry cobbler

Leave a Reply

