What I’m Reading Today

It’s that time of the week again…

But, before I get to today’s papers, I thought I’d pass on the word that MY BOOK IS ON THE SHELVES! That’s right, if you’re at your local Williams Sonoma, check out the series of “New Flavors” books. Mine is New Flavors for Vegetables and it looks amazing. Let me know if you cook from it-would love your thoughts.

I’m back in SF, so my first read was the SF Chronicle. Who wouldn’t love a banana cupcake after school? Okay, so you probably should have veggies and fruit MOST days but, for a special treat, this recipe looks delicious!

Thankfully the weather is hot and sunny in SF so I’m not missing LA too much yet. Today’s LA Times has an article on entertaining with an ‘entree free dinner’. I’m kind of over the small plates thing when I eat out but, love the idea of cooking this way at home. You’d be amazed at what you can throw together right from your well stocked pantry.

When you buy my book (yes, I’m making some strong assumptions) you’ll see one of my favorite recipes-Creamed Corn with Chipotles. Today’s NY Times has a recipe for Spicy Fried Corn with Chipotles and Bacon. Chipotles, smoked jalapenos you buy canned in adobo sauce, are spicy and smoky-a perfect counterpoint to sweet corn.

Tomatoes galore at the market, finally! We’ve been eating them every night. I love the idea of putting them in a tart and the recipe for Heirloom Tomato Tart with Blue Cheese in the Seattle Times today couldn’t be easier. With store bought puff pastry, you’ll put it together in no time.

Happy Cooking!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I’m Reading Today

  1. Deana says:

    Congratulations Jod! Can’t wait to get your book.Looking forward to not just dog earing the pages (like with many of my cookbooks) but actually trying recipes that I know will be good.-Deana

  2. Amy Sherman says:

    Congrats on the book! Terribly exciting. I can’t wait to see it.

Leave a Reply

