The Story of Edgar Sawtelle

This is far from a food post but, I had to pass it along.

I just finished one of the best books I’ve ever read.

I loved The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. I read it about seven years ago and haven’t read a better book since. Until now. The Story of Edgar Sawtelle is fantastic.

I am not a dog person but some of the main characters in this story are dogs. Not just any kind of dog either (I’ll leave it at that…). If you are like me, and the idea of reading a book about dogs doesn’t sound all that appealing, get over it. I did and it was worth it.

It’s not just dogs either. It is about farms, death, family, friendship, sadness, joy, and feelings way outside one’s self.

I read fast and am a self admitted skimmer at times. This is not a book to be skimmed. The author, David Wroblewski, doesn’t fill the pages of this debut novel with any fluff. There is nothing you wont want to read. You know those books that you read r-e-a-l-l-y s-l-o-w-l-y at the end because you just don’t want them to be over? This is one of those books.

Buy it, enjoy it, and pass it along to a friend. You will be glad you did.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Story of Edgar Sawtelle

  1. TD says:

    I am can be a skimmer too… I’m doing it with the book I am reading this morning. I was a little nervous when you first mentioned the dog thing but you talked me into it… I’ll add it to my library list today!

  2. bob says:

    Isn't just amazing? I took a break from my MA reading list for “Edgar” and it's by far the best thing I've read in ages.I reckon that that “Edgar Sawtelle” will end up on the reading list for modern novel classes very soon.“The Adventures of K & C” has been on my shelf for a long time. I guess I should give it a ago as well?

  3. BOB…definitely pull K&C off the shelf. It's well worth the read…let me know how you liked it when you're done.

Leave a Reply

