What I’m Reading Today

The Wednesday Food Sections are out and here’s what I like today:

I’m in Seattle right now so I poured my coffee while reading the teeny-tiny food section of the Seattle Times. Today they reviewed Mario Batali’s Italian Grill. The recipe they printed was for Shrimp on Rosemary Skewers. The thing I loved about it was coating the shrimp in breadcrumbs before throwing them on the grill-just watch your heat, these babies will cook fast!

The SF Chronicle did an article on grilling sausages and the sides to serve with them. I’m definitely making the Sweet Corn with Pimenton Butter. Pimenton is a smoky Spanish paprika that is a lot easier to find these days. I’m also making the Mascarpone Ice Cream…love the idea of topping it with grilled peaches or juicy fresh berries.

Bittman is back in the New York Times with another one if his ‘101’ lists. This time it is ‘101 20 Minute Dishes for Inspired Picnics‘. I love these lists because they reflect the way I like to cook-simple and without a recipe. It will surely inspire you to get outside for a meal this summer. Also, this article was from Monday’s WELL blog but, who doesn’t need to know the ‘11 Best Foods You Are Not Eating‘ ?

If you’ve ever eaten at San Francisco’s Nick’s Crispy Tacos then I hope you’ve had one of their house made Agua Freca’s-Mexican inspired juices made with fresh fruit or even rice. My favorite is the strawberry but, in today’s LA Times, there are recipes for a creative list of other kinds, including Watermelon Lime. Spike it with some white rum or vodka for a great summer party drink. Oh, and serve it up with the Buttermilk Fried Chicken and you’ll make all kinds of friends.

What are you reading today?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’m Reading Today

  1. Saulgoode says:

    I liked the Jerk Chicken article in the Times. Sweet and hot…Mmmm

Leave a Reply

