What I’m Reading this Wednesday

A little sample of what I’m reading in today’s food sections:

Rosemary Halibut Kabobs with Romesco: I love Romesco on almost anything. Wild Halibut? Yum! This one from SF Chron.

Touch of Grace Biscuits: This is a recipe from Shirley Corriher’s Cookwise (in today’s NY Times). I’ve made these and LOVE them. Keep note of the consistency of the dough-it’s almost batter-like but, trust me, fluffy light biscuits every time. Try adding a pinch of sugar and using them for peach-berry shortcakes. If you don’t have easy access to self-rising flour, you can create a good subsitute-for every cup of self rising flour in a recipe, substitute 1 cup all purpose flour, 1 1/4 tsp. baking powder and 1/8 tsp salt.

Cabbage Chipotle Slaw: Two things I love cole-slaw and chipotles. Look for chipotles in the Latin-food aisle of your super market. They are smoked jalapenos that are usually canned in adobo sauce, a vinegar based sauce with a serious kick. Both the chipotles and the sauce are great additions to recipes. I can’t wait to try this slaw with some BBQ’s baby back ribs. This one is from the Seattle Times and would also be great with grilled Northwest salmon.

Peach, Blackberry and Almond Crisp: I am not much of a camper (ok, not a camper at all) but this LA Times recipe for campfire Peach, Blackberry and Almond crisp sounds so good I might just go camping to try it out. If you don’t find yourself by a campfire this summer, put the filling mixture in a baking dish, mix together the topping and sprinkle it over the fruit, bake it at 375 until golden brown on top, 20-30 minutes.

Let me know if you’re reading anything delicious today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’m Reading this Wednesday

  1. Carey says:

    The biscuit recipe reminds me of the “drop biscuits” my mother used to make. Though she never dusted them with flour, that I can remember. Most of my attempts at biscuit-making have been less than satisfactory. For a long time I tried to recreate my great-aunt’s unparalleled biscuits but I could never pull it off. She never measures anything, so that makes them nearly impossible to duplicate.

Leave a Reply

