It’s Not That Easy Being Green…

…but it IS worth it! Ever since I read Michael Pollan’s Omnivore’s Dilemma I have been more aware of what I put in my body and what I feed my family. It is the book I recommend more than any other-if you have not read it, click the link, buy it in paperback, and get through it this summer. You won’t regret it for a minute.

My friend, Christine Gardner, has started a web site called More Green Moms and it is something else you should not miss. Less than a year ago Christine took it upon herself to begin researching all things green, with the goal being to ‘green’ her own household. The project took on a life of its own and now we can all benefit from it. For the good of your own health, your family’s health and our earth, take the time to read Christine’s site and take the steps you need to green your our household.

Start small-getting rid of all those plastic water bottles-and do it in steps. I am in no way there yet myself but I’ve been totally enlightened by Christine’s information, the links on her site (check out the cosmetic’s database), and the thorough speech I heard her give at our school (you can download it here ).

Next time you are grocery shopping, think hard about what you are adding to your cart. Did those peaches fly thousands of miles from another hemisphere to get to you? Is that container recyclable? Did that cow eat grass, as nature intended, or was it ‘trained’ to get used to corn instead? Do the best you can-changing everything at once is difficult, expensive and can be frustrating. Educate yourself, take small steps, and pay it forward. Share what you learn with a few friends and maybe one day we will all reach Christine’s goal of “leaving a softer collective footprint on our planet”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

