What I’m Reading Today

Welcome to the new digs.  This is going to take some getting used to. I feel like I’ve just moved into a new house and don’t know how anything works.  So, thanks for the patience while I get to know Word Press.  Things might look and feel a bit different for a while but, rest assured, I’ll still bring you the best recipes I find from food media on Wednesday.  Enjoy.

(Andrew Scrivani/The New York Times)

Melissa Clark never fails me.  Her Vegan Harvest Dinner Party in the NY Times will please the carnivore in you, your vegetarian neighbor, and your vegan cousin.  I love menus like this because it makes me realize how much I love ingredients I don’t use every day.  The stand-out dishes for me are the Farro and Fresh Tomato Soup with Fresh Basil and the Crisp Kale Chips with Chile and Lime.

(Don Barletti/The Los Angeles Times)

This month the LA Times is featuring Nancy Silverton of Mozza in their Master Class series.  She’s talking salads, which may seem simple at first but once you taste her well balanced combinations of ingredients you’ll understand why she’s a Master.  Quality ingredients, lots of texture, the right vinaigrette, and a concept for how and why it all comes together are her metrics for creating a salad that really works.  The Little Gem with Dates, Red Onion, and Gorgonzola Dolce is absolutely restaurant worthy but simple to do at home.  The best thing about it is that the Gorgonzola dressing can be made and stored in the fridge for 3-4 days.  Trust me, there is no reason to buy store bought dressing of any kind again.

(Alex Garcia/The Chicago Tribune)

The Chicago Tribune today coins a new term, C.I.Y or, Corn it Yourself.  They tackle homemade Corned Beef and promise it’ll be leaps and bounds beyond anything you’ve ever tasted.  We all know homemade is better than store bought but, is it worth the work?  Truth be told, it’s not all that hard.  The age-old method of preserving meat consists of soaking it in a seasoned brine mixture along with a small amount of pink salt (or curing salt) to keep the meat bacteria free.  This is a recipe you want to follow to the letter.  There is an important balance of ingredients here and for it to work flawlessly you need to stray from improvising.  I’m going to give it a shot…will let you know how it goes.

Happy Reading and Happy Cooking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’m Reading Today

  1. Jodi, your new site is very exciting! I loved your list of favorites and am thrilled to find my site among them! Thanks so much. I look forward to what’s to come at Food Wednesday….

Leave a Reply

